Library Resources
Use Credo to search for information about psychological theories, background information, vocabulary and concepts related to your topic.
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
AccessScience is an online full-text version of an encyclopedia of science and technology. Along with the encyclopedia entries it also has blog posts, news articles, and research articles relevant to a wide variety of science topics. This database is a great resource to use to help you to choose your natural disaster and while you are looking for history and basic information about it.
Helpful databases for research into environmental science topics.
- Encyclopedia of LifeA global partnership between the scientific community and the general public, with the goal of making knowledge about all the world's organisms freely available to anyone. Start with the introductory biodiversity articles to learn more about life on earth, or search for a species by scientific or common name.
- FishBaseA global information resource on fishes.
- ITIS, the Integrated Taxonomic Information System"Here you will find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. We are a partnership of U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies (ITIS-North America); other organizations; and taxonomic specialists."
- PLANTS Database (USDA)Provides names, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, references, and more information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
U.S.
-
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)From the U.S. Department of Commerce
-
Climate.gov (NOAA)NOAA Climate.gov is a source of timely and authoritative scientific data and information about climate. Our goals are to promote public understanding of climate science and climate-related events, to make our data products and services easy to access and use, to provide climate-related support to the private sector and the Nation’s economy, and to serve people making climate-related decisions with tools and resources that help them answer specific questions.
-
Climate Data Online (NOAA)Climate Data Online (CDO) provides free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals.
-
Daily Summaries Map (NOAA)View specific data for a day by location. Data available for North America from 2007 to present.
-
U.S. Climate Resilience Tool KitExplore interactive graphs and compare time-series maps showing climate projections and observations for any county in the contiguous United States. You can also explore historical temperature and precipitation observations at hundreds of climate stations, and view observed and projected days of high-tide flooding at more than 90 coastal tide-gauge stations.
World
-
Country Profile Database Portal (World Meteorological Organization)Access WMO information about WMO Members on a per country basis.
-
Climate Data EUBrief climate summaries of cities in Europe and Africa.
-
Weather Underground Historical WeatherFind historical weather by searching for a city, zip code, or airport code. Include a date for which you would like to see weather history. You can select a range of dates in the results on the next page.
-
- American Scientist"Each issue is filled with feature articles written by prominent scientists and engineers who review important work in fields ranging from molecular biology to computer engineering. Also included is the Scientists' Nightstand that reviews a vast range of science-related books."
- Lancaster NewsOnline site for the LNP, Lancaster News Paper.
- PA DEP (Department of Environmental Protection) NewsNews released from the Pennsylviania Department of Environmental Protection.
- PennLiveOnline site for the Patriot News, a newspaper covering Harrisburg and Central Pennsylvania.
- Science News"An American bi-weekly magazine devoted to short articles about new scientific and technical developments, typically gleaned from recent scientific and technical journals."
- US EPA NewsFind news from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, sort by topic, state, region, or date.
Information Literacy Resources
Most library resources authenticate with a system called Open Athens, which uses your MyHU login.
For more information and help logging into resources, view the Logging in to Library Resources guide.