Zotero
Zotero is a free, open-source tool which allows you to collect, organize, cite, describe and share research sources easily, using a web browser extension along with a stand-alone program on your device.
Zotero's web extension adds a button to your browser's address bar, allowing you to save the citation information (metadata) of many sources – and in some cases, full text pdf copy of the source – to your Zotero collection, and sync them to your devices. This helps you organize your sources and create automatic citations. Zotero also allows you to take notes on each saved source directly within the program, and to organize sources using tags and folders.
Page Contents
To begin using Zotero, download the application and the appropriate Zotero Connector browser plugin for the browser you prefer. For more information, see Zotero's installation instructions.
Integration with Microsoft Word allows you to cite your sources in any of Zotero's supported citation styles.
Once you download Zotero, you can open it using the icon that will appear on your device.
You can add items to your account manually or by importing them.
Before you begin using Zotero, make sure you have installed the Zotero extension and that it is visible on your browser.
The easiest way to add an item to your Zotero account from your browser is to look up an item then click the Zotero extension button. As you click, items will begin to appear in your Zotero library.
You can add items manually or upload material using the File menu, where you can also create folders to organize your material, tag items, automatically remove duplicate items your folders, and more!
You can learn the basics of Zotero on the Zotero Quick Start Guide.
To automatically create notes and a bibliography in any style including APA, use Zotero's Word Processor Integration in conjunction with your appropriate Word Processor Plug-in, which should appear when you download Zotero:
While automatically generating notes and a bibliography using Zotero is a time saver, you are still responsible for the accuracy of your own work.
When creating bibliographies automatically, note the following:
- Zotero and all other citation managers that produce bibliographies will INEVITABLY IMPORT MISTAKES.
- Zotero cannot make corrections to imported data. If the citation data is imported with missing data or other errors, those errors will show up in your bibliography.
- Zotero will not correct for spelling, punctuation, capitalization, indentation, etc.
- Be sure to check each citation for missing data including volume and issue numbers, DOIs, additional authors, translators, editors, etc.
- LEARN CITATION RULES AND ALWAYS PROOFREAD AN AUTOMATICALLY GENERATED BIBLIOGRAPHY.