Locate Information
There are many different search strategies that you can implement to find. The resources below will help you to learn how to use these strategies.
- Top Five Search Strategies Handout This handout covers the five most used search strategies.
The library's subscription databases provide searchable access to credible resources like articles, books, dissertations, reports, and statistics not freely available on the web. Some are multidisciplinary, others subject-specific. Most offer full-text, while some link out. Searching databases ensures access to credible, relevant sources.
Key database features include:
- Advanced searching with field limiters (date, peer-review, full-text, etc.)
- Subject headings and search prompts
- Help tutorials
- Article linking to access full-text
- Interlibrary Loan request functions
- Personal accounts to save/organize results
- Citation formatting and export options
- Multimedia content (videos, images, audio)
- Language support and spelling assistance
Databases provide 24/7 access to magazines, journals, and newspapers. Consult descriptions to identify useful databases and the "Databases by Subject" list to find databases that have been identified as relevant to your program or classes. Database types include:
- Interdisciplinary (broad coverage)
- Discipline-specific (focused areas of study)
- Subject-specific (news, statistics, law, etc.)
- Background sources (encyclopedias, definitions, overviews)
Strategic database searching allows efficient access to high-quality, relevant research materials beyond basic web searches.
Using databases to find your resources can be very intimidating for some researchers. The tutorial below will help you become more comfortable while working with databases and teach you how to successfully use the common tools found in a database.
