HU Presentation Resources
Better Presentations by
Designed for presenters of scholarly or data-intensive content, Better Presentations details essential strategies for developing clear, sophisticated, and visually captivating presentations. With a range of clear examples for what to do (and what not to do), Jonathan Schwabish shares the best techniques to display work and win over audiences.
Call Number: Available in our EBSCO databaseISBN: 9780231542791Publication Date: 2016-12-19
The Non-Designer's Presentation Book by
These days, practically anyone may need to stand before an audience and deliver a great presentation. You're not a professional designer, but you want your slides to look great, persuade your audience, and help you achieve your goals. Do what more than a million people have already done: get start-to-finish help from Robin Williams, the beloved, best-selling "non-designer's designer" who's taught an entire generation the basics of design and typography. In The Non-Designer's Presentation Book, Second Edition, Williams introduces four fundamental, easy-to-use principles for designing great presentation visuals, and four more principles specific to crystal-clear communication with slides. Whether you work with a Mac or PC, PowerPoint, Keynote, or some other tool, Robin guide you -- in her signature, light-hearted style -- through the entire process of creating an inspiring, visually powerful presentation that works. She'll show you: Exactly what makes a good presentation -- or a bad one How to plan, organize, and outline your presentation more effectively Four principles of designing effective presentations Four principles for designing beautiful slides that communicate clearly An exhaustive list of timeless presentation rules...that you should totally ignore! This Second Edition has been expanded and updated with new examples reflecting modern design, plus new quizzes and projects to give you even more hands-on practice. It's all you need to succeed -- even if you've never designed or delivered a presentation before!
Call Number: Available in our O'Reilly for Higher Education databaseISBN: 9780134685892Publication Date: 2017-07-27
Presentation Zen Design by
Creating and delivering a successful presentation today often means breaking through the noise and allowing your audience to focus on you and your message. You can have a great impact using simple design choices in your presentations but you just need to know where to start. Here to guide you on your journey is best-selling author and popular speaker Garr Reynolds, whose design wisdom and advice will open your eyes and give you new ways to look at your slides. Filled with practical insights and plenty of examples, you'll learn how to design effective presentations that contain text, data, color, images, and video. Once the design guidelines are established, you will benefit from Garr's years of experience as a master presenter and learn how you can achieve an overall harmony and balance using the powerful tenet of simplicity. Not only will you discover how to design your slides for more professional-looking presentations, you'll learn to communicate more clearly and will accomplish the goal of making a stronger, more lasting connection with your audience. nbsp; nbsp;
Call Number: Available in our O'Reilly for Higher Education databaseISBN: 9780321934154Publication Date: 2013-12-05
- O'Reilly for Higher Education Collection on Presentation Skills A collection of resources from O'Reilly for Higher Education that includes eBooks, audiobooks, videos, and video paths.
- LinkedIn Learning's Designing a Presentation Perhaps the most essential skill for all knowledge workers, sales professionals, business owners, and educators is the ability to design compelling presentations. Whether you’re reporting performance metrics, delivering a training, or pitching a big idea, you need a presentation to support you and illuminate your speech. In this course, designer Tony Harmer takes you through the essentials of presentation design to give you the tools you'll find most useful in thinking about, designing, and building successful presentations. Tony covers a variety of key topics, including moodboards, outlines, layout, type and text, color considerations, graphics, video, charts, transitions, and animations. He concludes with some useful advice on finishing touches and follow-ups for your presentation.
Presentation Tools
Microsoft PowerPoint is a powerful slide show presentation program. It is a standard component of the company’s Microsoft Office suite software, and is bundled together with Word, Excel, and other office productivity tools. The program uses slides to convey information rich in multimedia. The term slide refers to the old slide projector, which this software effectively replaces.
- LinkedIn Learning: PowerPoint: Designing Better Slides Designed for non-designers, this course introduces average business professionals to key design components and requirements for purposeful PowerPoint slide design. PowerPoint MVP Heather Ackmann avoids convenient—but unproven—blanket rules for presentations, reaching instead for an understanding and holistic view of design. Heather's approach supports the three basic pillars for effective PowerPoint slides: audience, environment, and message. She guides you through before-and-after examples showing how to properly use white space in slide design, if and when to use bullet points to communicate, how to contrast elements and main ideas effectively, and finally, how to best use color.
- Youtube: The Beginner's Guide to Microsoft PowerPoint Learn everything you need to know to get started using Microsoft PowerPoint! You'll learn all the basics plus more, including: how to choose a design theme, add text and pictures to a slide, adding new slides, animating items, and more.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education: Topic for PowerPoint Presentations A collection of resources on Microsoft PowerPoint that includes books, learning paths, videos, and audiobooks.
Canva is an easy to use graphic design and video editing tool that allows you to design and publish anything using an intuitive drag-and-drop editor. Canva's users can choose from thousands of design layouts for any project, including presentations, social media videos, posters, flyers, invitations and more.
- Canva: Tutorials for using Canva Fast-track your ability to create amazing designs. Canva's tutorials have all the tools you need for your creative journey.
- LinkedIn Learning: Learning Canva Canva is an easy way—without any graphic design experience—to create professional graphics for social media, presentations, newsletters, business cards, brochures, gift certificates, and more. Flexible design templates provide the correct layout for your target destination, letting you focus on the design, not the size or file formatting. And because Canva lives on the cloud, you can access your graphics from anywhere you can get online. Learn how to get up and running with Canva in this short, fun training course from Canva expert Marley Baird. Marley shows how to add and edit images, work with typography, and use the built-in design templates to build your next project with Canva.
Google Slides is an app that allows you to easily collaborate and share presentations with text, photos, audio, or video files. It is a part of the free Google suite and also has add-ons and many other features that make it easier to present.
- LinkedIn Learning: Google Slides Essential Training Learn how to create high-impact presentations with Google Slides. Follow along with staff instructor Jess Stratton as she shows how to plan and build a presentation. Jess shows how to get started with a template or create a new slideshow from scratch. She covers adding and formatting text, working with images and shapes, and inserting video, diagrams, and charts. She also shows how to increase engagement with animation, collaborate with others in real time, download slides to your desktop, and use Presenter view to run the show.
Prezi makes virtual presentation, design, and video tools that show your visuals on screen next to you for the most engaging way to connect with your audience.
- Prezi product tutorials Jump in to any of our products with these tutorials and how-to videos. You'll learn beginner basics as well as some advanced techniques.
- LinkedIn Learning: Prezi Essential Training Presentations don't have to be linear: slide after slide, bullet point after bullet point. With Prezi, you can create eye-catching, impactful presentations that allow you to connect multiple ideas on a single canvas and zoom in and out as your presentation flows. In this course, instructor Garrick Chow acquaints you with the hallmarks of the Prezi style and explains how to plan your presentation before you create it. He shows how to build a new Prezi with Prezi Present and add content like text, images, and shapes. Garrick then shows how to arrange the elements on your canvas for maximum impact and integrate multimedia and animation. Next, you’ll see how to record or stream your presentations with Prezi Video, and how to apply the skills you’ve learned to Prezi Design and build eye-catching and interactive data graphics.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education: Prezi™ For Dummies® A one-stop resource for an exciting new Web-based, slide-free presentation tool! People who have been seeking a flashier version of PowerPoint have found it—and it's Prezi. A Web-based, slide-free presentation tool, Prezi allows users to create and give rich, Web-based presentations complete with dynamic content, contextual layouts, and eye-catching visuals. Prezi For Dummies gets you rapidly up to speed, including how to think outside the traditional slide, create your project, insert Flash and other graphic files, and publish your presentation to a public domain. You'll also learn valuable tips on what makes a good Prezi. Introduces Prezi, a Web-based, Flash-friendly, dynamic presentation tool Explains how to use online and offline editors and insert images, video, sound, Flash files, and other complex graphics Covers presenting a Prezi, publishing it to a public domain, and collaborating with others Offers tips and insights on what makes a good Prezi—and how to think visually to create content that benefits your business or organization Move beyond slides, put your visual thinking cap on, and get the very most of Prezi with this timely, practical guide.
Animatron is a powerful cloud-based collaborative application that has rich drawing tools. It allows you to draw or import images and audio to create awesome animations using your own assets. Then, you have the power to export as Video, HTML5, Gif, or SVG SMIl and even add buttons to make the project interactive.
- Animatron Tutorials Tutorials and walkthroughs for Animatron.
Storyboard That has become a favorite tool for students, teachers, filmmakers, and businesses. Users can create their own storyboards, graphic novels, comics, and graphic organizers.
Podbean is an ultra simple podcast publishing solution.