MEBA Library Research Guide

The following databases are multi-disciplinary databases and can be used to find resources for many topics. These databases are great for interdisciplinary topics or for topics that aren't getting results in other databases.

The following databases are the best bets for resources for MEBA resources. There are subject specific databases and will help you to find resources that are more focused on topics relevant to your course and topic! You might be able to find similar resources in other databases but these databases have unique resources and are organized in a way to make it easier for you to find and access these specific resources.

Interlibrary loan helps current Harrisburg University students, faculty, and staff get copies of items that are unavailable in our own library.  Just tell us what you need; we will find out which other library owns it and request a copy, free of charge to you. 

You can request these types of materials:

Placing Requests for Interlibrary Loan Materials

In order to place an interlibrary loan, you can sign into your Tipasa account. This link should either sign you in automatically or take you to a Harrisburg University sign in page. Once you are signed in, it will automatically direct you to the form that will need to be filled out, your contact information will be auto populated into this form. The only contact information that you have to fill out is the Patron ID field which will be your email address.

This process can also be completed in the EBSCO databases and the PRIMO catalog. A link labeled "Request through Interlibrary Loan" will automatically populate when an item that is not owned by Harrisburg University is found. Completing this process through the EBSCO databases and the catalog will also allow the form to automatically fill in the information about the item that you are requesting.

Please allow 7 to 14 business days to receive your information request. You will be notified when your item is ready for pick-up.  If your document comes in electronic format, we will e-mail it to you at the address specified in the form.

If you have any questions about interlibrary loan, please email the librarians at library@harrisburgu.edu.

Special notes about BOOK REQUESTS:

• E-books cannot be borrowed from other libraries
• Required course materials cannot be borrowed from other libraries
• Due dates are set by the owning library (not the HU library)
• Renewals are not guaranteed
• Books must be picked up and returned to the HU Library; items cannot be shipped
• *During the Covid-19 Pandemic, book loans are hard to get and slow to be delivered. Please request a specific chapter or two instead of an entire book to ensure quick delivery of your materials.*

Special notes about requests received through Article Exchange:

• These items should be downloaded and saved once opened the first time
• They are only available for either 30 days or 5 views, whichever comes first
• Once these items have expired they will no longer be available for you to access
• If you have any issues accessing any item please contact the library after your first try