Creative Commons

What is a collection?

Creative Commons defines a collection as "compiling different works together while keeping them organized as distinct separate objects."

For example, if you create a list of images and videos about honey badgers, but do not change or adapt the originals, you've build a collection. 

Factors to consider:

Attribute your sources properly.

If you choose to share or distribute your collection, your copyright and your license will only apply to your unique contributions.  For example, if you created an introduction, structure, or design elements to present the collection, you could apply a CC license to cover those elements.  The copyright and licenses of the originals still belong to the creators.

Read more about licensing collections.

Sources: 

Unit 4: Using CC Licenses and CC-Licensed Works by by Creative Commons. CC BY 4.0.

Adaptations and Derivatives

• What is an Adaptation?

Creative Commons defines an adaptation as "a work based on one or more pre-existing works."

 An adaptation usually adds something new or unique to the original work; for example, a translation into another language is usually considered  an adaptation.  Sometimes this is also referred to as a derivative work. Changes in format or media are also examples of adaptations, like creating a graphic novel from text.

You'll often find the term "remixes" used when creators combine multiple originals into a new adapted work.

For example, if you create a collage of CC-licensed images of honey badgers and used image editing software to change the colors to match your room decor, you've created an adaptation or "remix."

• What is NOT considered an adaptation or derivative?

Minor text changes, like fixing punctuation, mechanics, or spelling are not considered adaptations, because they do not add any unique new elements. 

Quoting from a source in a literature review, or using it as an example within your own argument is also not an adaptation.  The original may provide evidence or useful information that improves your work, but unless you're adding unique content (like a translation or visual media), it isn't a derivative or adaptation. 

A collection is not an adaptation, if the original works remain unchanged.  For example, if you create a list of images and videos about honey badgers, but do not change or adapt the originals, you've build a collection.  

• Factors to consider: 

Attribute your sources.

Be sure to follow the guidelines set by the licenses chosen by the original creators.  

If one of the images in your honey badger collage is under a NoDerivatives license, you can enjoy your honey badger collage on your personal device, but you can't share it, distribute it, or make it the background of your publicly available website.

If are planning to share your adaptation or remix under a CC license, your license will only apply to your unique contributions.  For example, your creative changes to the images in your collage.  The copyright and licenses of the originals still belong to the creators.

Not all licenses are compatible. This chart provides a guide for license compatibility when remixing content.

Sources: 

Creative Commons FAQ by by Creative Commons. CC BY 4.0.

Unit 4: Using CC Licenses and CC-Licensed Works by Creative Commons. CC BY 4.0.