ACQUIRE: Choose Databases
Evidence Based Practice requires clinicians to search the literature to find answers to their questions. With millions of published reports, journal articles, and studies available to clinicians, choosing the best resource to search is an important decision. You can use Library Databases (sample list shown below) to aid in this search. Many of these databases are only available through your employer or school library.
Knowledge Check
1) Go to the Library Databases page. Change the All Subjects dropdown menu from All Subjects to Nursing. Which database will best help you study human body systems?
| A) CINAHL | B) Gale Anatomy | C) Health Source |
2) Using the Library Databases page, decide which database is likeliest to provide evidence based articles specific to nursing with both current and historical research? (Be sure to click more... for complete descriptions of each database.)
| A) CINAHL | B) AHFS Consumer Medication | C) Ethnomed |
Sample Health Related Databases
The following list is not exhaustive. See the Library Databases List for all recommended offerings provided by the Harrisburg University Library.
-
CINAHL This link opens in a new windowCINAHL provides access to nursing and allied health journals and evidence-based care sheets.
-
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowHealth Source – Nursing/Academic edition provides access to research pertaining to pediatric nursing, critical care, allied health, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, and other related topics.
-
Nursing and Allied Health Reference Source This link opens in a new windowNursing & Allied Health Reference Source provides evidence-based care sheets, clinical reviews, exercise sheets, skills with in-context images and videos, quick lessons and research instruments.
-
Health Policy Reference Center This link opens in a new windowHealth Policy Reference Center provides access to articles pertaining to health care access and delivery; health care administration; health care financing and economics; health care planning; health care quality; health care reform; health insurance; health law; health services research; long-term care; maternal and child health; medical and health care ethics; public health; and social medicine.
-
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE Complete provides access to biomedical and health journals.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to citations and articles from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
