Searching Library Databases
Once you have all of the background information you need and you have identified your keywords, it is time to start searching for resources.
The way you approach your research will determine where you begin looking:
- Broad Search - Use the library's Discovery Service when you are only just getting familiar with your topic, your topic is multi-disciplinary, and/or you want to see a wide variety of sources.
- Subject Specific Search - Use a focused database when you are no longer a beginner in the subject area, you are looking strictly for sources directly related to your topic, and/or you are seeking to supplement your bibliography with deeper research.
Broad Searching
If you are only just getting familiar with your research topic, or your topic spans more than one discipline (e.g. the representation of the environment in artistic works), a great place to start your search is with the Library's Discovery Service on the library homepage. This research tool searches many of the databases available at Harrisburg University at the same time, thus covering a wide range of subjects, including those taught at Harrisburg University and beyond.
However, it is important to note that the Discovery Search does not search every database that Harrisburg University has to offer, so it is possible that you may miss some important material using only this search tool. Consider using Subject Specific databases as you become more familiar with your topic.
Subject Specific Searching
If your search in the Discovery Service produces too many results, it may help to search a database specific to your disciplinary area. Searching in subject-specific database keeps out material that is not relevant to your topic area.
The Library's A-Z Databases page lists each of the library's databases in alphabetical order and lets you sort them by subject (eSports, Management, Nursing, etc.), and the type of material contained in them (Data Sets, News, Video, etc.).
You can also use the "Search for Databases" box to identify relevant databases that do not reflect their content in the title. The search box looks for the word you enter in the database titles and descriptions. For example, the title of the database CINAHL, a prominent nursing database, does not include the word "nursing," however the description includes the term and the database will be recommended when the term "nursing" is entered in the "Search for Databases" box as shown.
