Library Resources for Research Papers
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo is an easy-to-use tool for research projects and homework. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and 1100+ videos. Use this instead of Wikipedia.
This database is great for topic exploration and offers multiple viewpoints on controversial issues to help you to round out your argument. It also offers well-organized sources to help you to begin your research and offers encyclopedia entries to build background knowledge as well as scholarly articles to build up your research.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazine articles and statistics on contemporary controversial issues. Full text.
AccessScience is an online full-text version of an encyclopedia of science and technology. Along with the encyclopedia entries it also has blog posts, news articles, and research articles relevant to a wide variety of science topics. This database is a great resource to use to help you to choose your natural disaster and while you are looking for history and basic information about it.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new windowIncludes books, interactive tutorials, and videos in computer science, information systems, user experience, business, communication, professional development, and management topics.
Use our Ebsco Discover Service to search across multiple databases with one search, including ebooks, scholarly journals, news, videos, and more. This search is great for finding scholarly articles once you already have your keywords and topic worked out. Make sure to use the filters to make it easier for you to search!
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowScholarly, government and general-interest information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment: global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Some full text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowComplete digitized archives of core scholarly journals in biology and life sciences.
- Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS) This link opens in a new windowFull Text access to all content found on the PNAS website (articles, teaching resources, podcasts, etc.). New articles are published online daily then are collected together into a weekly issue (ISSN 1091-6490).
- Science This link opens in a new windowFull text access (1997 - current) to the peer reviewed journal, Science.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed journal articles in the physical and life sciences, engineering, and business; many full-text.
- Springer This link opens in a new windowScientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works in wide range of medicine, pharmacology, life science, math, computer science, and business topics.
- SAGE Journals This link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine. Full Text.
- SAGE Knowledge Complete Books, Reference and Navigator This link opens in a new window"SAGE Knowledge is home to an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, containing over 5,100 titles. Content includes social sciences reference works, academic books, professional development titles and more." - From website
Information Literacy Resources
Most library resources authenticate with a system called Open Athens, which uses your MyHU login.
For more information and help logging into resources, view the Logging in to Library Resources guide.