Finding Dissertations & Theses
As you conduct your own graduate research, you will want to read other dissertations and theses published by other former graduate students in order to:
- Find examples of how dissertations are structured
- See what work has been done in your field to avoid duplication
- Identify gaps in the research of your field
- Learn theories and research methods
- Find sources that may be useful to you
Page Contents:
- Finding Dissertations and Theses in Free Databases
- Finding Dissertations and Theses in Library Databases
Finding Dissertations in Free Databases
The following databases are free to use.
- Digital Commons - Harrisburg University's research repository where you will find the full text of theses, dissertations, projects, and other work created by HU faculty, students and staff.
- EBSCO Open Dissertations - A full text database of material from institutional repositories of colleges and universities.
- Google Scholar - May not provide the full text of all items. If not, you may be able to find them at a nearby partner library. Dissertations and theses cannot be ordered through interlibrary loan services.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations - Full text, open access graduate work f rom more than 1000 institutions.
Finding Dissertations and Theses in Library Databases
EBSCO
Most EBSCO-branded library databases allow you to search specifically for dissertations and these. For example:
- Go to EBSCO Discovery Service
- Enter your search terms in keyword fields
- Click All Filters, scroll down to Source Types, select Dissertations/Theses, and click Apply.
- Your list should narrow only items tagged as theses or dissertations.
- This search can be replicated in many other library databases. Look for the filters above or below the search boxes or in sidebars.
- In many cases, the items in the database will be accessible. If not, you may be able to find them at a nearby partner library. Dissertations and theses cannot be ordered through interlibrary loan services.
WorldCat
WorldCat is a world-wide database that allows you to search the catalogs of libraries around the world. WorldCat does not provide the full text of any material, but you can use it to identify titles and abstracts of dissertations and theses and find out what libraries have them. You can then check the resources listed above to see if the items are accessible. Dissertations and theses cannot be ordered through interlibrary loan services but you may be able to find them at a nearby partner library.
To search for theses and dissertations in WorldCat:
- Click the Advanced Search icon
- Enter your search terms in keyword field and change the Format drop-down menu to Thesis, Dissertation
- Your search should return only items tagged as theses or dissertations.