Mathematics Databases
Many researchers begin looking for resources by using a general purpose database such as the Library's Discovery Search. While this is a valid way to begin research, a general purpose database might not provide the specific sources you need.
It is usually preferable to use a subject-specific database. You can access the Library's many databases using the Databases A-Z List. Subject specific databases allow you to select only those databases most likely to contain material directly relevant to your topic, reducing the number of items you have to consider. You can learn how to access databases covering math and related subjects using the Subject Specific Databases guide.
Below are direct links to databases appropriate to math research. A lock symbol indicates that the database is free and open to all. Others are paid for by the Harrisburg University Library.
-
Applied Science and Technology Source This link opens in a new windowApplied Science and Technology Source provides access to articles from journals, trade magazines, and conference proceedings in applied sciences and computing disciplines.
-
arXiv.org Archive This link opens in a new windowarXiv.org (pronounced "archive") provides access to articles pertaining to physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
-
IEEE/IET Electronic Library This link opens in a new windowIEEE/IET Electronic Library provides access to literature pertaining to electrical engineering, communications, and computer science.
-
zbMATH Open This link opens in a new windowOpen source database providing abstracts and bibliographies of journal articles relating to pure and applied mathematics. To access the full text of the articles in this database, see the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) guide.
Coverage range: mid-20th century - present.
Additional Math Resources
- European Digital Mathematics Library
Open access journal articles and proceedings covering all areas of mathematical science. - Historical Math Monographs
Open access math monographs, highlighting the history of math, from Cornell University.