Forensics (FORS)

The Harrisburg University Library subscribes to many journals related to forensic sciences. These journals are not available for free elsewhere. To view a complete list of forensics journals and subscription dates available to you:

• Go to the Harrisburg University Library website
• Click Browse Journal Subscriptions
• Type forensic* in the search box (the asterisk tells the system to search for the term forensic followed by any other letters or spaces)

Journals that you should be reading regularly for your program include:

• Journal of Forensic Sciences
• Forensic Science International

To access these journals directly, use the instructions above but type the title in the search box. See also: Find an Article Using a Citation.

Research for academic projects should begin with the Library, which purchases much of the material you need to complete your projects and makes them available through the website. These items cannot be accessed anywhere else (e.g. by searching Google) at no cost. Without using library-provided resources, you may be missing a lot of critical material.

One way to begin research is by using a general purpose database such as the Library's Discovery Search. However, a general purpose database might not provide all of the specialized material you need for forensics projects. It is usually preferable to use subject-specific databases, which are most likely to contain material directly relevant to your topic. You can learn how to access databases covering forensics using the Subject Specific Databases guide.

Below are direct links to some databases appropriate to forensics research. A lock symbol indicates that the database is free and open to all. Others are paid for by the Library and can only be used by the Harrisburg University community. For a complete list, see the library A-Z Databases page.