Advanced Manufacturing Databases
Many researchers begin looking for resources by using a general purpose database such as the Library's Discovery Search. While this is a valid way to begin research, a general purpose database might not provide all of the pharmaceutical-related sources you need for your projects. In specialized fields such as Advanced Manufacturing, the bulk of your research should be performed using the Databases A-Z List. The material in these databases is quite expensive to obtain, is paid for on your behalf by the Harrisburg University Library, and cannot be found through free resources like Google Scholar. If you do not use these database, you will not locate material that is critical to your current research projects and future career.
You can learn how to access databases covering Advanced Manufacturing using the Subject Specific Databases guide.
Below are direct links to some important databases appropriate to research in Advanced Manufacturing. This list is not comprehensive, so be sure to review the complete Databases A-Z List.
-
Applied Science and Technology Source This link opens in a new windowApplied Science and Technology Source provides access to articles from journals, trade magazines, and conference proceedings in applied sciences and computing disciplines.
-
AccessScience This link opens in a new windowAccess Science provides access to articles, biographies, books, videos, and news articles pertaining to major scientific and engineering disciplines.
-
IGI Global This link opens in a new windowIGI Global provides access to literature pertaining to Business & Management; Science, Technology, & Medicine; and Education & Social Science.
Additional Resources
Open Access Databases
There is a growing number of peer-reviewed databases that are being made available for free. While not all open access material is of the high quality needed for academic research, the Harrisburg University Library staff has curated a list appropriate to your work. To access these resources:
- Go to the Library's A-Z Databases list (also found on the Library's homepage).
- Change the second drop down menu from "All Database Types" to "Open Access."
- The complete list of databases will narrow to those tagged as open access. Select the open access databases that include topics in the sciences to search and proceed to search as with any other database.
Google Scholar
If you do search with Google Scholar, you can link its results to Harrisburg University Library's subscriptions with no extra searching and no paywall. Note that this method of search will not connect you to all of the Library's holdings and may miss important material. It's still best to search using the Databases A-Z List. For more information on linking to Google Scholar, see the Special Access Resources guide.