Pharmaceutical Sciences Databases
Many researchers begin looking for resources by using a general purpose database such as the Library's Discovery Search. While this is a valid way to begin research, a general purpose database might not provide all of the pharmaceutical-related sources you need for your projects.
Therefore it is usually preferable to use a subject-specific database. You can access the Library's many databases using the Databases A-Z List. Subject specific databases allow you to select only those databases most likely to contain material directly relevant to your topic, reducing the number of items you have to consider. You can learn how to access databases covering pharmaceutical sciences using the Subject Specific Databases guide.
As you begin the search research material, you should consider using the PICO Method of formulating a research question. The PICO Method will help you identify the key words and phrases associated with the condition you intend to research, and can therefore improve decision-making by identifying search results that provide the most relevant evidence.
Below are direct links to some important databases appropriate to research in the pharmaceutical sciences. This list is not comprehensive, so be sure to review the complete Databases A-Z List.
-
ACS Web Editions This link opens in a new windowACS Web Edition provides access to 20 journals published by the American Chemical Society.
-
ChemNetBASE This link opens in a new windowChemNetBASE provides access to nine interactive chemistry databases.
-
CINAHL This link opens in a new windowCINAHL provides access to nursing and allied health journals and evidence-based care sheets.
-
Health Policy Reference Center This link opens in a new windowHealth Policy Reference Center provides access to articles pertaining to health care access and delivery; health care administration; health care financing and economics; health care planning; health care quality; health care reform; health insurance; health law; health services research; long-term care; maternal and child health; medical and health care ethics; public health; and social medicine.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to citations and articles from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
-
R2 Library This link opens in a new windowThe R2 Library provides access to nursing, pharmacology, and healthcare eBooks.
